2023 Flourish Prizes banner

2023 Flourish Prizes

The Flourish Prizes are each year’s culminating event for AIM2Flourish, a Fowler Center initiative that recognizes the positive impact of today’s business leaders while changing the way tomorrow’s leaders are taught.

By shifting the core questions asked, AIM2Flourish brings the transformative method of Appreciative Inquiry to professors and students globally. Through the lens of the UN Global Goals for Sustainable Development (Global Goals), students identify business innovation models, and share these stories on the global AIM2Flourish.com website. These future business leaders are discovering innovations that promote economic prosperity while contributing to a healthy world and human wellbeing.

In 2022, we published 694 student-written, inspiring innovation stories from all corners of the globe. From this impressive collection, our Fowler Center team selected the 78 most exemplary stories as the 2023 Flourish Prize Finalists.

The 2023 Flourish Prizes Honorees will be announced the week of June 5th through 9th via the AIM2Flourish social media accounts on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

2023 Flourish Prize Honorees

Global Goal 1: No Poverty

Empowering Maasai Women in Arid Lands featuring African Agency for Arid Resources (AGAR) Ltd in Kenya written by Jorge Luis Pérez López, Oscar Herdocia, Nandamuri Naga Suresh, Dibyendu Bhadra and Maureen Obunga from EGADE Business School Tecnologico de Monterrey under the direction of Francisco Layrisse

Global Goal 2: Zero Hunger

FoodATM featuring FoodATM in United Arab Emirates written by Nasser Lootah from University of Dubai under the direction of Yaprak Anadol

Global Goal 3: Good Health and Well-being

Seeing More With Less featuring Alentic Microscience in Canada written by Lena Fine, Adam Bahloul, Angelo Knowles and George Radomsky from Dalhousie University under the direction of Kent Williams and Sandi Stewart

Global Goal 4: Quality Education

Digital transformation unlocks full potential of students with SEND (Special Educational Needs and Disabilities) featuring Impact Education Ltd in the United Kingdom written by Nicolas Stein from York University- Schulich School of Business under the direction of Charles Cho

Global Goal 5: Gender Equality

Women Inspire Women in Transport featuring Commercial Transport Academy in South Africa written by Jad Hmeidi, Carles Alias, Vega Hörberg, Abigail Lee, Justine Mazet and Joy Bou Absi from Jönköping International Business School under the direction of Guenola Nonet

Global Goal 6: Clean Water and Sanitation

Water Filtration featuring Basic Water Needs in the Netherlands written by ruby perez, andrellie puntiel, Jadyn Hidalgo and Hannah Doscher from Fairleigh Dickinson University (FDU) under the direction of Aixa Ritz

Global Goal 7: Affordable and Clean Energy

Universal Nature Energy featuring UNE s.r.l. in Italy written by Deborah Oggionni, Ruben Fornaciari, Cosmin Valentin Preda, Edoardo Premoli and Sara Quattrini from Catholic University of the Sacred Heart (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore) under the direction of Riccardo Torelli

Global Goal 8: Decent Work and Economic Growth

Upscaling Plastics and Livelihood of Grassroots Communities featuring Conserve India in India written by Pavithra Radhakrishnan and Arjun Madathil from TIAS School for Business and Society under the direction of Mirjam Minderman

Global Goal 9: Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure

Sustainability, Quantified. featuring Quantify Environmental in Canada written by Malcolm Wright, Christian Romas, Patrick McAdams, Tamara Alilovic and Max Ho from University of Guelph under the direction of Ruben Burga

Global Goal 10: Reduced Inequalities

Access for All - What does that even mean featuring Access For ALL in India written by SURBHI JAIN, Mansi Malpani, Akhil Narang and Sananda Maity from Goa Institute of Management under the direction of Divya Singhal

Global Goal 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities

Mercaris: Revolutionizing Online Trading for Organic Crops featuring Mercaris in the United States written by Abhigeetha Periyasamy from Case Western Reserve University - Weatherhead School of Management under the direction of Michael Goldberg

Global Goal 12: Responsible Consumption and Production

Replacing ceramics with wood featuring Woodio in Finland written by Vesa Pitkänen, Jimmy Cheng, Jonas Timonen, and Sini Järvinen from Hanken School of Economics under the direction of Martin Fougere and Eva Nilsson

Global Goal 13: Climate Action

Transformation of Organic Waste / Transformación de residuos orgánicos featuring Más Compost SAS in Colombia written by Paola Morales and Johana Tocarruncho from Universidad Externado de Colombia under the direction of Gustavo A Yepes López

Global Goal 14: Life Under Water

The Last Object you'll ever needfeaturing LastObject in Denmark written by Libby Brunelli from Loyola Marymount University under the direction of Jeff Thies

Global Goal 15: Life On Land

Sustainable Remediation of Soil and Ground Water featuring Bio2clean in Belgium written by An Voets from Uhasselt under the direction of Frank Lambrechts

Global Goal 16: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

No Hunger, what business is in the run to complete this SDG?. featuring Ezells Famous Chicken in the United States written by Sana Dixon from Seattle Pacific University under the direction of Randal Franz

Global Goal 17: Partnerships for the Goals

Building A Nation Without Borders featuring Good Empire in Australia written by Neha Praseed and Shravani Enduri from Case Western Reserve University - Weatherhead School of Management under the direction of Chris Laszlo

2023 Distinguished Jury

We are grateful to our Distinguished Jury for taking the time to support our 2023 Flourish Prizes. The 2023 Jury comprises of Fowler Center Advisory Board Members, Fowler Center Doctor of Management and Doctor of Business Administration Fellows, Fowler Center MBA Fellow Alumni, and previous Flourish Prize honorees.

Abbas Manjee | Flourish Prize Honoree 2022
Chuck Fowler | Fowler Center Advisory Board Member
Rachel Horvath | Fowler Fellow Alumni
Redda BEN GELOUNE | Fowler Center Doctor of Business Administration Fellow
Craig Dicht | Fowler Fellow Alumni
Juan Ignacio Gerardi | Flourish Prize Honoree 2017
Roberta Baskin | Former AIM2Flourish Director
Muyiwa Oni | Fowler Fellow Alumni
Angel Lopez | Fowler Center Doctor of Management Fellow
Roxanne Jimenez | Fowler Center Doctor of Management Fellow
Lyell Clarke | Fowler Center Advisory Board Member
Fernando Diez Torres | Flourish Prize Honoree 2017
Jacqueline Cambata | Fowler Center Advisory Board Member
Jennifer Bishop | Fowler Center Doctor of Management Fellow
Alejandro Souza | Flourish Prize Honoree 2020
Mr. Parag Agarwal | Flourish Prize Honoree 2019
Tyler McMahon | Flourish Prize Honoree 2017
Aissa Yero | Fowler Center Doctor of Management Fellow
Katrina Inandia | Flourish Prize Honoree 2022
Mike Bellissimo | Fowler Center Doctor of Management Fellow
Jude Klak | Fowler Center Executive Director